2015 Contests


2015 Charles B Conway Annual Life Time Achievement Award **NEW

Deadline: January 15, 2016

Sponsored by: Paul Conway Shields


Presented to a deserving individual who has lived their life for the betterment of their fire department and community. This is an award presented each year, nominees not chosen will be eligible to be re-nominated in subsequent years.

2015 Firefighter of the Year Nominee

Deadline: January 15, 2016

Sponsored by: Bauer Built, Inc., W S Darley, Flanagan Insurance Agency

Committee Members:
Barry Kuenkel – Chair
Jeff Halvorsen
Ron Hampton
Doug Reimert


The winner and spouse will have all expenses paid at the 2016 WSFA Convention and receive the Firefighter of the Year 2016 commemorative Plaque.

The Firefighter of the Year will be on the cover and their department will be the Department Profile featured in the post-convention issue of the Wisconsin Fire Journal.

Submit your nominee for the WSFA Firefighter of the Year 2015. Include a cover letter to earn full points in judging.

2015 Poster Contest

Deadline: January 31, 2016

Sponsored by: American Family Insurance

Committee Members:
Ron Hampton-Chair
Jim Hulleman
Tom Krajnik
Doug Reimert


Participating member departments each hold their own contest, judge those entries from kindergarten through 8th grade and submit the first place winner for each grade level to the WSFA office.

Only one poster per each grade level, from a school or fire department will be accepted. Multiple entries per grade will disqualify all entries even if a school has more than one class of a grade level.The posters will be displayed and judged by the membership at the WSFA convention in March, 2016. Winners will be selected on the basis of originality and their understanding of fire prevention strategies.

Cash Prizes awarded for each grade level as follows:
1st prize: $50.00
2nd prize: $25.00
3rd prize: $10.00.

2015 The Jim Stormer/WSFA Memorial Scholarship - Increased in 2016 to $1500

Deadline: January 15, 2016

Sponsored by: WI State Firefighters Assoc

Committee Members:
Todd Blaser, Chair
Tom Krajnik


This scholarship is open to anyone who is interested in continuing education in the fire service, however priority will be given to those applicants who are members of the WFSA in good standing.