Below is information about the contests and Awards the WSFA holds each year in March:

Charles B. Conway Lifetime Achievement Award: 

This award is given to a deserving individual who has lived his/her life for the betterment of their fire department and communities.  Paul Conway Shields is a joint sponsor of this award.

Firefighter of the Year: 

This award honors a deserving firefighter as nominated by their department.  Winners receive all expenses paid attendance to the WSFA convention and receive a plaque int heir honor.  This contest recognizes 3 levels – the winner, 2nd and 3rd place.  Sponsors of this award include Bauer Built, W.S. Darley Co and Flanagan Insurance Agency.


The Wisconsin State Firefighter’s Association awards 2 scholarships annually at their convention.  Each scholarship is worth $1500.  These scholarships are open to any member of the Association or their children to further their education in firefighting.

Fire Poster Contest: 

The contest is done on a state level; a fire department can choose to hold this contest by contacting their local schools and getting the children engaged.  Each fire department holding a contest is eligible to send the 1st place winner from each grade level, k-8, on to the WSFA Annual Convention where the attendees then vote on the top 3 from each grade level.

Deadlines for these contests are typically in early to mid-January and the winners are announced in early February.  Application materials will be posted on our website in the fall and will appear in the Sept/Oct issue of the Wisconsin Fire Journal.